User:Toomas Schvak

From Citizendium
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The account of this former contributor was not re-activated after the server upgrade of March 2022.

I was born on 24 March, 1979, in Tallinn. I graduated from secondary school in 1997 and continued my studies in the Tallinn Pedagogical University. I majored in library and information sciences and minored in history. Graduated in 2001 with a BA degree. Most of my professional activity has been related to libraries and institutions of education: I started my career in 1998 as an information specialist in the National Examination and Qualification Authority and since 2002 have been working as a project manager for the National Library of Estonia. I have been a participant in building The European Library and European Digital Library web services.

After a short and unsuccessful try to continue my education in the Asian Studies Master programme of the Estonian Institute of Humanities back in 2004 I restarted my Master studies in the Tartu University in autumn 2007 and should graduate in spring 2009 with a MA degree in theology (more precisely, anthropology of religion).

I have been also working on English Wikipedia since January 2005. Since January 2006 I have been mainly active in Estonian Wikipedia where I am also an administrator. As Citizendium is not available in Estonian, there is no better option to increase the cultural and educational content in Estonian web than to contribute to Wikipedia, so I will also continue my activities there.